Week 16 – Random Acts of Kindness – Master Key

images

I have a confession to make.  I enjoy cars.  Mostly fast cars, however, more importantly -unique cars.  Best of all, unique fast cars.  As such, when buying cars I always looked for something you just don’t see every day.  One time I bought a car that in the years that I owned it I never seen another one like it.  (This was due to the fact they had only imported a very limited number of them).  On the other hand, invariably over the years it seemed like once I bought a car that I thought was unique, I suddenly started to see that type of car everywhere.  I guess it all comes down to Focus.  You only see what you focus on.

This week we were to keep track of any act of kindness that we either observed or any acts of kindness we secretly did ourselves for others.  This was a fairly easy assignment for me because many years ago I had the fortune of marrying my wife Denise.  Denise is one of the kindest people I know.  It is her mission in life to do things for other people.  As an example, we dine out quite often.  One of the things she does is stack the plates and clean the table for the server after our meal.  She does it in a way that I don’t think anyone else notices (not even the server in most cases).  When dealing with rude people, she bends over backwards to be nice to them.  Our kids and especially our grandkids have it made…  This week I was able to do a number of things around the house to help her without her realizing it.  I also tried my best to also help people in my daily travels.  Throughout the week I found that once I started focusing on kindness it was easier to do things for others.   I also noticed that just like the cars I have owned, when you focus on it you start to see kindness everywhere.  The best part is that it just makes you feel good and most importantly it makes you happy.  I believe this exercise was designed to gently push us to get into the state of mind where we are always supposed to be: Happy AND Harmonious!

This week I also tried to be in the moment.  For a long time it has been far to easy for me to always have my mind on the busy week(s) ahead. Once you realize that you have to be in the moment and live for the moment you are presently in, it also brings happiness to you…  You seem to live a fuller life!

If you bring more Happiness, Harmony, and Kindness into your life and the lives of others, you are starting to take control of your thoughts and your future.  What a great way to design the future of your dreams!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Week 16 – Random Acts of Kindness – Master Key

  1. nolajmkmma

    Thanks for sharing about your lovely wife and how you and she interact with the world. The last sentence is great – “you are starting to take control of your thoughts and your future”. Love it.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment